2016 Jeep Wrangler Trims

Kendall Wrangler Trims Outdoors

The Jeep Wrangler is the most iconic Jeep vehicle because it was the first Jeep model to be introduced and it has been in the Jeep lineup for 75 years. Since its inception in 1941, the Wrangler has evolved to include two models, the Jeep Wrangler and the Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. Though nearly identical, the Jeep Wrangler is a two-door four-passenger SUV, and the Wrangler Unlimited is a four-door five-passenger SUV.

Both the Jeep Wrangler and Wrangler Unlimited are available in the same eleven trims and four of the unique Jeep Wrangler trims include the Willys Wheeler, Black Bear, Sahara, and Rubicon Hard Rock. Each of those four trims is off-road vehicles, but there are slight differences between each trim, check ‘em out.

Engine, Fuel Economy and Towing

All Jeep Wrangler models are equipped with the same 285-horsepower 3.6-liter V6 24-valve VVT engine paired with a 5-speed manual transmission, but buyers can opt for a 6-speed automatic transmission if they prefer. The engine and transmission configuration help to give the Jeep Wrangler a fuel economy of 17 mpg city, 21 mpg highway and a maximum towing capacity of 2,000 pounds.


Each of these four Jeep Wrangler trim embodies the classic 2-door Wrangler style. They all have a rugged exterior look, a seven-slot grille, removable doors, and a full-size spare tire displayed on the back tailgate. However, there are some slight exterior differences between each trim, including wheels, tires, ground clearances, fuel fills, and decals.

The Jeep Wrangler Willys Wheeler trim has 17-inch high gloss black wheels, the Black Bear trim comes with 17-inch black semi-gloss aluminum wheels, the Sahara trim comes standard with 18-inch polished wheels with granite crystal painted accents, and the Rubicon Hard Rock comes with 17-inch polished semi-gloss black wheels.

The Willys Wheeler and Rubicon Hard Rock have BF Goodrich Brand tires and the highest ground clearance of 10 inches. The Wrangler Sahara trim has Bridgestone tires and a ground clearance of 9.7 inches, and the Black Bear has Goodyear tires and the lowest ground clearance of 8.3 inches.

A black fuel filler bezel comes standard on the Sahara and Willys Wheeler trims. Also, the Willys Wheeler trim has a special-edition Willys hood decal displayed on the exterior of the vehicle and it has a black grille, as does the Black Bear.


Jeep Wrangler Interior Kendall

Just like the exterior, there are differences between these four trims in regards to interior features, but similarities as well. Every Wrangler trim has a conveniently covered storage compartment, a full-length floor console and comes with a Torx Tool Kit.

Interior features of each trim vary in upholstery and gadgets. The Wrangler Willys Wheeler and Sahara trim come standard with cloth seating, however, buyers have the option to upgrade the Sahara trim with leather seating. The Wrangler Black Bear has a unique black cloth and mesh upholstery that is exclusive to the Black Bear. As the trim with the most upgraded finishes, the Wrangler Rubicon Hard Rock has leather-trimmed seats and heated front seats.

The entertainment options are fairly standard across the four different trims, but there are a few exceptions. The one-year SiriusXM subscription comes standard on all four trims, with the exception of the Black Bear. the only other difference in technology is that the Black Bear, Sahara, and Willys Wheeler all have an 8-speaker sound system and the Rubicon Hard Rock has nine Alpine Premium speakers with an all-weather subwoofer.


Jeep Wrangler Interior Kendall

Of course, each of these trims has the basic safety features such as airbags, windshield wipers, and more. But, some of these Jeep Wrangler trims have the option for upgraded safety features. Aside from the Willys Wheeler, a security alarm system and remote keyless entry feature are standard on all trims and a remote start system is optional.

Prices and Warranty

All Jeep vehicles are backed by the same 3-year or 36,000-mile basic limited warranty and 5-year or 60,000-mile limited powertrain warranty, but prices of each of these vehicles vary.

Jeep Wrangler Willys Wheeler – MSRP $28,195.

Jeep Wrangler Black Bear – MSRP $28,790.

Jeep Wrangler Sahara – MSRP $29,995.

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Hard Rock – $37,995.

Interested in a Jeep Wrangler?

You can check out the Jeep Wrangler trims at Kendall Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram online here.